Brett Kavanaugh is the 114th US Supreme Court justice

The US Senate today (Oct. 6) confirmed Brett Kavanaugh as the 114th justice of the Supreme Court, with 50 Yea and 48 Nay—the smallest margin since 1881 (paywall). The confirmation ends a hearing process that involved several women accusing the nominee of sexual misbehavior (including Christine Blasey Ford, who testified in front of the Senate Judiciary Committee), a limited FBI investigation into Ford’s allegations, an angry testimony by Kavanaugh, and several people raising concerns about the character and drinking habits of a man who will, in a few days, begin playing a pivotal role on the highest court in the US.

In the end, only one Republican senator voted differently from the party line: Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, who had previously voted against ending the debate. Yet her vote today didn’t get recorded as a “no.” She instead voted “present,” pairing her vote with senator Steve Daines of Montana, who was attending his daughter’s wedding. Though an old and rare practice, senators are allowed to pair their votes when they go in opposite directions (in this case, Murkowski’s “Nay” and Daines’s “Yea”) if one is not able to attend the vote, as the two votes strike each other out.

Murkowski said she agreed to vote present as a courtesy to her colleague who was otherwise ready to leave his daughter’s wedding to cast his vote.

On the Democrats’ side, Joe Manchin of West Virginia also went against the party line, voting in favor of the confirmation. Bernie Sanders of Vermont and Angus King of Maine, both independent, voted “nay.”

This is how each senator voted, sorted alphabetically by state. Bolded are the seats to be contested in the upcoming election on Nov. 6.

Yea: 50

Jeff Flake Arizona Republican Party
Richard Shelby Alabama Republican Party
Daniel S. Sullivan Alaska Republican Party
Jon Kyl Arizona Republican Party
Tom Cotton Arkansas Republican Party
John Boozman Arkansas Republican Party
Cory Gardner Colorado Republican Party
Marco Rubio Florida Republican Party
Johnny Isakson Georgia Republican Party
David Perdue Georgia Republican Party
Mike Crapo Idaho Republican Party
Jim Risch Idaho Republican Party
Todd C. Young Indiana Republican Party
Joni Ernst Iowa Republican Party
Chuck Grassley Iowa Republican Party
Pat Roberts Kansas Republican Party
Jerry Moran Kansas Republican Party
Rand Paul Kentucky Republican Party
Mitch McConnell Kentucky Republican Party
John Neely Kennedy Louisiana Republican Party
Bill Cassidy Louisiana Republican Party
Susan Collins Maine Republican Party
Roger Wicker Mississippi Republican Party
Cindy Hyde-Smith Mississippi Republican Party
Roy Blunt Missouri Republican Party
Deb Fischer Nebraska Republican Party
Ben Sasse Nebraska Republican Party
Dean Heller Nevada Republican Party
Thom Tillis North Carolina Republican Party
Richard Burr North Carolina Republican Party
John Hoeven North Dakota Republican Party
Rob Portman Ohio Republican Party
Jim Inhofe Oklahoma Republican Party
James Lankford Oklahoma Republican Party
Pat Toomey Pennsylvania Republican Party
Tim Scott South Carolina Republican Party
Lindsey Graham South Carolina Republican Party
Mike Rounds South Dakota Republican Party
John Thune South Dakota Republican Party
Lamar Alexander Tennessee Republican Party
Bob Corker Tennessee Republican Party
Ted Cruz Texas Republican Party
John Cornyn Texas Republican Party
Orrin Hatch Utah Republican Party
Mike Lee Utah Republican Party
Joe Manchin  West Virginia Democratic Party
Shelley Moore Capito West Virginia Republican Party
Ronald Harold “Ron” Johnson Wisconsin Republican Party
Mike Enzi Wyoming Republican Party
John Barrasso Wyoming Republican Party

Nay: 48

Doug Jones Alabama Democratic Party
Kamala D. Harris California Democratic Party
Dianne Feinstein California Democratic Party
Michael Bennet Colorado Democratic Party
Richard Blumenthal Connecticut Democratic Party
Chris Murphy Connecticut Democratic Party
Tom Carper Delaware Democratic Party
Chris Coons Delaware Democratic Party
Bill Nelson Florida Democratic Party
Mazie K. Hirono Hawaii Democratic Party
Brian E. Schatz Hawaii Democratic Party
Tammy Duckworth Illinois Democratic Party
Dick Durbin Illinois Democratic Party
Joe Donnelly Indiana Democratic Party
Angus King Maine Independent
Chris Van Hollen Maryland Democratic Party
Ben Cardin Maryland Democratic Party
Elizabeth Warren Massachusetts Democratic Party
Ed Markey Massachusetts Democratic Party
Gary Peters Michigan Democratic Party
Debbie Stabenow Michigan Democratic Party
Tina Smith Minnesota Democratic Party
Amy Klobuchar Minnesota Democratic Party
Claire McCaskill Missouri Democratic Party
Jon Tester Montana Democratic Party
Catherine Cortez Masto Nevada Democratic Party
Maggie Hassan New Hampshire Democratic Party
Jeanne Shaheen New Hampshire Democratic Party
Cory Booker New Jersey Democratic Party
Bob Menendez New Jersey Democratic Party
Tom Udall New Mexico Democratic Party
Martin Heinrich New Mexico Democratic Party
Kirsten Gillibrand New York Democratic Party
Chuck Schumer New York Democratic Party
Heidi Heitkamp North Dakota Democratic Party
Sherrod Brown Ohio Democratic Party
Ron Wyden Oregon Democratic Party
Jeff Merkley Oregon Democratic Party
Bob Casey Jr. Pennsylvania Democratic Party
Sheldon Whitehouse Rhode Island Democratic Party
Jack Reed Rhode Island Democratic Party
Patrick Leahy Vermont Democratic Party
Bernie Sanders Vermont Independent
Tim Kaine Virginia Democratic Party
Mark Warner Virginia Democratic Party
Patty Murray Washington Democratic Party
Maria Cantwell Washington Democratic Party
Tammy Baldwin Wisconsin Democratic Party

Present: 1

Lisa Murkowski Alaska Republican Party

Absent: 1

Steve Daines Montana Republican Party

About the author

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *